Quandamooka territory, known as ‘Country’, comprises the waters and lands of and around Mulgumpin (known also as Moreton Island), Minjerribah (now also known as North Stradbroke Island), the Southern Moreton Bay islands and South Stradbroke Island. Qandamooka Country includes the mainland from the mouth of the Brisbane River, Wynnum, Chandler, Lytton, Belmont, Tingalpa, south to Cleveland, to the Logan River, crossing the boundaries of four modern day Queensland local governments.

The Quandamooka people have lived on Quandamooka Country for a very long time. Scientists say at least 25,000 years, however the traditional owners believe it is longer.

There are three clans of Quandamooka. They are the Nughi, the Nunukul and the Goenpul, all of whom have a strong identity and culture, as the people of the sand and the water.

Quandamooka people have retained distinctive culture and are living proof of continuous occupation and cultural practice. Traditional practices have been upheld in contemporary form with the Quadamooka people caring for Country.

Caring for Country is the business of traditional owners – they sing its songs, tell its stories and dance to the rhythms of Country.

The Quandamooka Yoolooburrabee Aboriginal Corporation (QYAC) is a Registered Native Title Body Corporate (RNTBC) and Prescribed Body Corporate (PBC) created under the Native Title Act 1993 to manage the recognised Native Title rights and interests of the Quandamooka people following the determination on the 4th July 2011.

QYAC has more than 760 members and has the largest membership of all PBCs in Australia. QYAC is now also the registered Cultural Heritage Body under the Aboriginal Cultural Heritage Act 2003 (Qld). It is responsible for cultural heritage management across the Quandamooka estate.